Immigration Act (United States) (1907)

2011-02-16 12:29:14

Both the general increase in the number of immigrants and the assassination of President William McKinley in 1901 fueled a growing nativism in the United States and in Congress during the first decade of the 20th century. The Immigration Act of February 20, 1907, consolidated earlier legislation and raised the head tax to $4 per immigrant, excepting aliens from Canada, Newfoundland, Cuba, and Mexico. Most notable was its creation of a commission (Dillingham Commission) consisting of three senators, three representatives, and three presidential appointees to review U.S. immigration policy.